Bandeau CJB Back to Welcome Back to Welcome
EXPLORATION CONSERVATION RESEARCH TRANSMISSION PROTECTION
Museums of Geneva
 MUSEUM
PRACTICAL INFORMATION
KNOW HOW
FRANÇAIS | ENGLISH  


Follow us on Facebook !

interroGE - la réponse est humaine

Mirabilia
Podcasts Videos
Podcasts Videos
 * = may be in French

séparation
 
BEYOND THE
 CJBG
Plants and theater
 Plants and theater
 The CJBG's Versailles
 planters move to the
 Théâtre de l'Orangerie
 July 2- September 27
séparation
 
Post Facebook THE GARDEN'S  SECRETS
Amazing new blooms to discover in the Rockeries
séparation
 
NEWS
Radio Cité
 Radio Cité - Podcast
 End of confinement and
 presentation of the
 exhibition "The rise of
 invasive neophytes",  with director, Pierre-
 André Loizeau
séparation
Radio Lac
 Radio Lac - Podcast
 Introduction to the CJBG
 and to some invasive
 species, with director
 Pierre-André Loizeau
séparation
Cult.ge
 Cult.ge
 Presentation of the
 exhibition "The rise of
 invasive neophytes",  with director, Pierre-
 André Loizeau
séparation
Plan Biodiversité 2020-2023
 The 2020-2023 Biodi-
 versity Plan approuved
 by the State Council.
 The CJBG greatly
 contributed to the
 objectives' definition
séparation
Tribune de Genève 06.06.2020
 La Tribune de Genève
 Learn more about
 invasive exotic plants
séparation
Agro-environmental networks
 Genève Grandeur
 Nature
 Agro-environmental
 networks
séparation
 
THE HESPERIDES'
 TREASURE
Symboles & Sentiments
Interactive & multimedia
 fiction !

séparation

Opening Hours
Address and Access
Services
Contacts
Shortcut*
Scientific Activities*
Teaching*
Publications*
Library
Databases
Carl von Martius Exhibition
 


100% Organic
séparation
Acquisition policy for the Living Collections 2019
Acquisition policy for the Living Collections 2019
séparation
Politique de gestion des collections vivantes
Living collections management policy 2018
séparation
Index Seminum 2020
Index Seminum 2020
séparation
Catalogue des collections vivantes
Living collections index
séparation
ombrage

Conservatoire et Jardin botaniques de la Ville de Genève


Welcome → Botanical Garden → The Management
Maintenance of the Living Collection
impression
séparation

Maintenance of the Living Collection

Who works there
Maintenance of the green spaces
Maintenance of the living collection

Formation of a gardener-botanist

The maintenance of the collections of living plants requires specific training that is complementary to the basic training of a horticulturist. One needs 2 to 3 years for a good horticulturist to become fully at ease with the maintenance of the collections.

Effectively, working on living collections requires motivation and a particular knowledge of plants. Each plant is different from its neighbour. Our plants generally come from natural habitats, and there rarely exist "fiches de culture" for wild plants.

The gardener-botanist has to know about the natural habitats of plants. This is usually somewhat straightforward for indigenous species (the excursions for the collection of seeds for the Index Seminum are of great value in refining ones knowledge on different habitats), but can be less evident for tropical species where one must seek out information in published articles and books, often written in English. In some cases, one may need to contact the curator who brought back plants from an expedition.

Seed collection

Collection of seeds for the Index Seminum or for the maintenance of the collections, particularly when it concerns collections of phanerophytic plants (annuals or bi-annuals), is an integral part of the work of a gardener-botanist.

The living collections

The flowering stage is indispensable for the identification of a plant. Determinations can be made using a flora, or with the help of a curator who is a general botanist or a specialist in a type of flora, a family or a group of plants (cactuses, ferns, palm trees, etc.). The value of a collection depends on the number of identified plants in it.

A botanical collection is characterized by the proximity of numerous species in small numbers (a few examples, either in pots, under glass or planted outside in the soil or flower beds). A species is thus represented by just a few plants. Each plant has to be taken into consideration, not just as a group (as is the case in traditional horticulture), but plant by plant. Culturing procedures are closer to the horticulture practised in the beginning of the 20th century, prior to the start of mechanisation.

A tight collaboration within the Institute

One of the particular roles of the gardener-botanist consists of collaborating closely with the curators, and thus providing them with precise information on the species on which they are working. They must take notes, be capable of synthesising information and be able to communicate this to others. The mastering of computer systems is becoming indispensable, on the one hand to distribute information, and on the other to assure the management of databases. As seeds and plants are received, they are registered and labelled. All of the culturing procedures are subsequently noted. Each plant is indexed and all information on it is recorded.

Reconstitution of biotypes

In collections under glass (greenhouse collections), a perfect knowledge of climate management is critical. Watering, humidity, aeration, shade must all be mastered. Their original climates, often tropical, have to be understood in order to water the plants correctly. Watering remains a long and difficult apprenticeship for the maintenance and development of plants in greenhouses.

Bandeau CJB Retour à l'accueil Retour à l'accueil
EXPLORER CONSERVER RECHERCHER TRANSMETTRE PROTÉGER
Les Musées de Genève
 MUSÉE
PRATIQUE
SAVOIR
FRANÇAIS | ENGLISH  

Suivez nous sur Facebook !

interroGE - la réponse est humaine

Fil rss des CJB

Horaires
Adresses & accès
Services
Contacts
Accès rapide
Activités scientifiques Enseignements
Publications
Bibliothèque
Bases de données
A.-P. de Candolle: une passion, un Jardin
 


100% Bio
séparation
Index Seminum 2017
Index Seminum 2017
séparation
Actuellement en fleur au Jardin
Actuellement en fleur au Jardin
séparation
Catalogue des collections vivantes
Catalogue des collections vivantes
séparation
ombrage

Conservatoire et Jardin botaniques de la Ville de Genève


Accueil → Jardin botanique → La gestion du jardin
Entretien de la collection vivante
impression
séparation

Entretien de la collection vivante

Qui y travaille
Entretien des espaces verts
Entretien de la collection vivante

Formation du Jardinier-botaniste

L’entretien des collections de plantes vivantes demande une formation particulière complémentaire à la formation de base en horticulture. Il faut compter 2 à 3 ans pour un bon horticulteur avant qu’il soit pleinement à l’aise dans l’entretien des collections.

En effet, le travail dans les collections vivantes exige une acuité et une connaissance particulière des végétaux. Chaque végétal est différent de son voisin. Nos plantes proviennent la plupart du temps de milieux naturels et il existe rarement de fiches de culture pour les espèces végétales sauvages.

Le jardinier botaniste doit donc connaître les milieux naturels d’où proviennent les plantes. Si c’est chose aisée pour les plantes indigènes (les courses de récolte de graines pour l’Index Seminum sont précieuses pour parfaire les connaissances dans ce domaine), c’est moins évident pour des espèces tropicales pour lesquelles il faut rechercher des informations dans les ouvrages de référence, souvent rédigés en anglais, ou encore auprès des conservateurs qui ont ramené ces plantes lors d’expéditions.

Récolte de graines

La récolte de graines pour l’Index Seminum ou encore pour le maintien des collections, particulièrement lorsqu’il s’agit de collections de plantes phanérophytes (annuelles ou bisanuelles), fait également partie du travail du jardinier botaniste.

Des collections vivantes

La floraison reste indispensable pour la détermination de la plante. Ce travail peut se faire à l’aide de flores, ou encore avec l’aide d’un conservateur, généraliste ou spécialisé dans un type de flore, une famille ou un groupe de plantes (cactées, fougères, palmiers, etc.). La valeur d’une collection dépend du nombre de plantes déterminées la constituant.

Une collection botanique est caractérisée par la proximité de nombreuses espèces représentées par quelques individus, soit en pot, soit en couche, au sol, ou encore en massifs. Une espèce n’est donc représentée que par quelques plantes. Chaque plante doit être prise en considération, non pas dans un ensemble (comme c’est le cas en horticulture traditionnelle), mais individu par individu. Les pratiques culturales sont plus proches de l’horticulture qui était pratiquée au début du 20ème siècle, lorsque les installations n’étaient pas automatisées.

Une collaboration étroite au sein de l'institution

Un des rôles particulier du jardinier botaniste consiste à collaborer étroitement avec les conservateurs et donc, à leur fournir des informations précises et périodiques sur les espèces sur lesquelles ils travaillent. Il doit prendre des notes, être capable de synthétiser les informations et les transmettre. Actuellement la maîtrise de l’informatique devient de plus en plus indispensable, d’une part pour transmettre des données, d’autre part pour assurer la gestion du catalogue informatisé. Dès la réception des graines ou des plantes, celles-ci sont enregistrées et une étiquette les accompagne. Toutes les pratiques culturales sont introduites ensuite dans le catalogue. Chaque plante est fichée et toutes les données la concernant sont enregistrées.

Reconstitution de biotopes

En collections extérieures, regroupant des plantes rustiques (supportant notre climat), une des particularités consiste en la reconstitution de niches ou biotopes particuliers. La connaissance parfaite de la topographie et des caractéristiques du terrain et du sol à disposition est indispensable. Pour certaines espèces en limite de rusticité, il est nécessaire de prévoir des protections hivernales contre le froid, ou parfois simplement contre un excès de pluie.

En collections sous verre (serre), une connaissance parfaite de la gestion du climat est indispensable. Arrosages, bassinages, brumisation, aération, ombrage doivent être maîtrisés. Les climats d’origine, souvent tropicaux doivent être compris pour pouvoir arroser les plantes de manière adéquate. L’arrosage reste un apprentissage long et difficile pour la maintenance et le développement des collections dans les serres.